🌎 Where in the World is Jack? Vol.02

🌎 Where in the World is Jack? Vol.02

Welcome to Opposite Land

I’ve been doing things that challenge many of my basic rules around blogging, note-taking, and general text editing. It’s been weird and frustrating, but also fun. Here are a few of the rules I’ve been breaking:

Rule #1: Blogs are best served as static HTML, ideally generated via simple Markdown files, and hosted on a server that I control.

What I’m doing: I’ve started blogging with Scribbles. Scribbles is a simple blogging tool â€śfor humans”. It’s a web app. It’s hosted by someone else. It doesn’t even use Markdown. Even so, I’m having a blast with it. So I wonder, do my â€śrequirements” around blogging actually matter? I just purchased a lifetime subscription.

Rule #2: All notes should be written in Org-mode files. In cases where Org-mode doesn’t make sense, Markdown may be used instead.

What I’m doing: I started using the howm Emacs package a couple weeks ago. Howm is a weird, relatively obscure package for taking notes. It uses plain .txt files by default, so that’s what I’ve been using, like a Neanderthal. Oddly enough, this seems fine. Short, simple notes don’t need complex formatting and will not be directly published in any other format. I’m putting the â€śplain” back in plain text.

Rule #3: All text editing must use Vim-like key bindings. This means using Vim in the terminal and Evil-mode in Emacs.

What I’m doing: I’ve removed all traces of Evil-mode from my Emacs configuration and have started using Emacs’ â€śvanilla” keybindings. I’m adding convenience bindings for the most common tasks when the default bindings suck, but otherwise, it’s C-x Whatever to do Whatever. And I’m C-n’ing and C-p’ing like it’s going out of style. I’ve also changed $EDITOR from vim to emacsclient.

Everything is so weird right now. 

—Jack Baty

Check out the full issue of the đźŽ‰ weekend edition vol.018!